Done Trying

Because my sweetest love, Diana, left me access to all of her accounts and social media, I was able to see her “memories” for the day today on FB. This felt timely, and so so very sad. I believe this was when she was trying to find an apartment after last being homeless, but can’t be sure.

She wrote:

“December 28th, 2011

For those who know me…

For the better part of the last three decades, I have dedicated my life to making someone else’s world a better place. In the 80s, I worked for Greenpeace. In the 90s, I served the homeless and addicts. In the 00s, I helped with a bit of everything from politics to environmental causes to crime prevention. I’ve taken really good care of the people in my life while we were together, and held no hard feelings when we’ve parted.

I have taken chances and risked a great deal to be true to myself. I have lost some of the most important people I’ve ever known. I have started over from nothing more times than I care to remember.

I feel like I’ve paid enough forward to ask just one small favor – let me find some peace this time, or stop dragging this bullshit out. Because I’m done trying.”

Leave a Reply

