Words from Rhys

Via Rhys Harper, Transcend Magazine:

“Today, I wish I was in Florida, with the community gathering to celebrate and honor the life of of my friend, Diana, who took her life last week. I haven’t posted much about this yet, but I want to say that Diana was fierce- a force to be reckoned with. She was kind and compassionate, yet knew her boundaries and limits. She was a firm believer in bodily autonomy, including the right to die how and when she wanted. She spent her final moments on this earth in nature, watching the sun begin to set at a beautiful park near where she lived.

Diana was a total badass. She was an artist, a no-bullshitter, someone who lived her live completely unafraid. She was one of the most brilliant minds I’ve ever had the privilege of meeting.

The most grievous loss here is my friend Landon, her partner. They shared a love like I’ve never seen before, and I can only hope to find one day.

I wish I could be with you all today. Please send good thoughts and prayers to those who are hurting and missing Diana so much, and wishing we could have her back with us even if just for a little while longer.”

Leave a Reply

